Skip to content

Dock Designer App alternative with a free take-off

Dock Designer App prices by the square foot at $329 a month.⁠[1] Dock Builder counts the materials from your drawing, on a free account.

Updated

Dock Designer App vs Dock Builder

From each product’s public pages. “Not stated” means their page doesn’t say.
  • Yes
  • Partly, or with conditions
  • No
  • Not stated on the tool’s public pages, or doesn’t apply
Dock Designer App and Dock Builder · as of October 2026
TopicDock Designer AppDock Builder · free account
Price$329/month, one plan; extra users are an add-on; 7-day trial, no card⁠[1,5]$0, no time limit
2D and 3DYes: 2D and 3D⁠[1]Yes: 2D plan + 3D view
How it pricesSquare footage, plus accessory prices⁠[1,3]Line by line from the take-off
Material listNo: No bill of materials (its FAQ)⁠[1]Yes: Cut list, floats, hardware
Permit-style drawingsPartly: 2D/3D visuals⁠[1]Yes: Plan, profile, site, aerial sheets
Proposals and sharingYes: Shareable outputs, quick revisions⁠[1]Yes: Proposal Builder PDFs, share links
Phone and offlineBrowser app; offline not stated⁠[6]Yes: Phone layout; works offline
Designer on your websiteNot stated; a Custom feature⁠[2]No: No
ERP / CRM linksNo: None (its FAQ)⁠[1]No: No

Dock Designer Custom and our paid plans are compared on a wider screen. Features and prices change; check the sources.

Where Dock Builder is different

A take-off, not a square-foot price

The App’s FAQ points to Dock Designer Custom for a bill of materials.⁠[1] Dock Builder counts the lumber, decking, floats and hardware from your drawing.

Material take-off · Lakeside L-Dock (demo)4 sections · 480 sq ft
Dock Builder's material take-off over the editor: a summary row, lumber to buy with cuts and waste (joists 18 × 20 ft, 18 cuts averaging 17.2 ft), the joist stock-length table with 10 ft marked best at 0% waste, and decking bought as 74 boards of 16 ft.
  1. 18 × 20′ joists18 cuts, avg 17.2′
  2. 10′ stock · 0% wasteSix stock lengths compared
  3. 74 × 16′ deck boards1,016 ft needed, 1,184 ft bought

Itemized quotes

Every take-off line gets a quantity and unit price. Labor, margin and tax go on top.

Quote · live · Lakeside L-Dock (demo)Q-1
The live quote's totals for the demo dock: materials subtotal $21,822.66, adjustments $16,925.84 and grand total $38,748.50, above the adjustments panel with rows for labor at $18 per square foot, margin at 20% and tax at 6%.
  1. Grand total · $38,748.50Materials $21,822.66 + adjustments
  2. Labor · $18/sq ft
  3. Margin 20% · tax 6%Applied top to bottom
Profile · from depth soundingsA-2
Profile sheet: the lakebed drawn from depth soundings, high water at 0 ft and low water at −2 ft, the floats and gangway with 1.3 ft freeboard, 8.6 ft of water at the end, and a scale bar.

Permit-style drawings

A profile from your depth soundings, plus plan, site and aerial sheets. Requirements vary by permit office.

Permit drawings

Offline and on a phone

The designer runs in a phone’s browser and keeps working offline after your first visit.

Your designer on your website

Pro and Business plans run the designer on your subdomain or domain. Customer drawings land in your Leads inbox.

Jake On The Lakes in Coeur d’Alene runs its dock designer at build.jakeonthelakes.com (opens in a new tab). Homeowners design their dock and send it straight to Jake for a quote.

How it works

When Dock Designer App or Custom fits better

Pick the tool that matches how you already sell.
  1. You price by the square foot.The App is built around it.⁠[1]
  2. You want a published price today.Our paid plans have no public price or checkout.
  3. You make your own dock line.Dock Designer Custom connects design to ERP, CRM and manufacturing.⁠[2]
  4. You want published case studies.LightningCAD’s include EZ Dock and American Muscle Docks.⁠[2]

Questions builders ask

Is there a free alternative to Dock Designer App?

Yes. Dock Builder’s free account includes the take-off, quotes, PDF drawings and share links, with no time limit. The designer itself needs no account.

Does Dock Designer App make a material list?

Not in the App. Its FAQ calls it a standalone quoting and visualization tool and points to Dock Designer Custom for a bill of materials.⁠[1]

Is the take-off engineered?

No. It’s a buy list counted from the drawing, and floats are laid out as a grid, not sized for buoyancy. Check spans and flotation before you order (how the take-off works).

Can homeowners send me their designs?

Yes, on Pro (your subdomain) or Business (your own domain). Their drawings land in your Leads inbox, and Open & quote turns one into a project. LightningCAD offers website deployment through Dock Designer Custom.⁠[2]

Sources

  1. 1.LightningCAD — Dock Designer App (product page, FAQ) (accessed Oct 2026)
  2. 2.LightningCAD — Dock Designer Custom (product page, FAQ) (accessed Oct 2026)
  3. 3.LightningCAD — Dock Designer App (case study) (accessed Oct 2026)
  4. 4.LightningCAD — Coastal Pier and Dock (case study) (accessed Oct 2026)
  5. 5.Dock Designer App — Terms and Conditions (accessed Oct 2026)
  6. 6.Dock Designer App — Sign-up page (accessed Oct 2026)

Quote your next dock from one drawing.

Price a real job free: take-off, quote and drawings. Talk to us about your own designer.